Skip to content

Pharminent

Primary Menu
  • Home
    • Pro Hub
Light/Dark Button
Hub
  • Home
  • News
  • Bayer’s Hyrnuo Wins Accelerated Frontline Approval in HER2-Mutant NSCLC, Seven Months Behind Boehringer
  • News

Bayer’s Hyrnuo Wins Accelerated Frontline Approval in HER2-Mutant NSCLC, Seven Months Behind Boehringer

Bayer's Hyrnuo reached first-line HER2-mutant lung cancer seven months behind Boehringer's rival and still without survival data, while in China Novo Nordisk's Wegovy became the first GLP-1 approved for MASH — a landmark clearance whose regulatory pathway, covered fibrosis stages and pricing were all left undisclosed.
pharminent September 10, 2026 (Last updated: September 10, 2026)

STRATEGIC NEWS WATCH — September 10, 2026

Bayer’s Hyrnuo reached first-line HER2-mutant lung cancer seven months behind Boehringer’s rival and still without survival data, while in China Novo Nordisk’s Wegovy became the first GLP-1 approved for MASH — a landmark clearance whose regulatory pathway, covered fibrosis stages and pricing were all left undisclosed.

Today’s top developments:

  • The FDA granted Bayer’s Hyrnuo (sevabertinib) accelerated approval in first-line HER2-mutant non-squamous NSCLC, arriving seven months behind Boehringer Ingelheim’s Hernexeos on the same response-rate basis, with no survival data and no head-to-head comparison between the two (Pharmaphorum)
  • Novo Nordisk’s Wegovy (semaglutide) became the first GLP-1 approved in China for MASH, though the regulatory pathway, the fibrosis stages on the label and any pricing arrangement were not disclosed (Reuters)
  • The FDA placed a partial clinical hold on two pivotal focal-epilepsy studies of Biohaven’s BHV-7000 over rodent-metabolite risk, barring new enrolment but letting enrolled patients continue, roughly two weeks after SK Biopharmaceuticals agreed to a $350 million upfront licensing payment (Fierce Biotech)
  • AbbVie’s Qulipta (atogepant) met the primary endpoint of the Phase 3 Luna study in short-term prevention of menstrual migraine, though the placebo-adjusted benefit was 0.8 fewer migraine days — 1.2 versus 0.4 — across the perimenstrual period (Fierce Pharma)
  • Artisan Partners’ David Samra, a top-20 Novartis holder, publicly called for board changes over the Avidity, MorphoSys and pelacarsen setbacks, putting the market-value destruction at close to $30 billion; Novartis defended its capital allocation and left guidance unchanged (Fierce Pharma)

What to Watch

  • SOHO-02 is the real event — Bayer’s frontline label rests on a 75% response rate with no survival data, and Boehringer’s Hernexeos reached the same indication in February 2026 on the same basis. The confirmatory SOHO-02 comparison against standard of care (NCT06452277), and any comparative data either sponsor generates, will decide more than Bayer’s label — right now nothing separates the two agents.
  • China’s Wegovy label and reimbursement — The pathway, the fibrosis stages covered and any pricing arrangement went undisclosed. The label wording — and whether the indication enters China’s national reimbursement drug list — will determine whether the approval is commercially meaningful in the market where MASH epidemiology is largest.
  • Biohaven’s nonclinical package — The hold is partial, so the fully enrolled pivotal study continues on schedule. How quickly Biohaven delivers the rodent-metabolite risk assessment, and whether SK Biopharmaceuticals closes the transaction on the original terms after paying $350 million up front, are the open questions.
  • Qulipta’s filing and the trial size — AbbVie has named no submission date and no congress for the detailed Luna results, and the study’s enrolment was not disclosed. Both matter, because a 0.8-day placebo-adjusted difference reads very differently depending on the N behind it.
  • Whether other Novartis holders join — Samra is one voice among the top 20. Whether other institutional investors align before the next annual meeting is the near-term signal, along with whether Novartis changes how it runs diligence rather than only defending its capital-allocation record.

This brief highlights the edition’s top stories. Read the full September 10, 2026 edition → for all stories and analysis — or browse the Strategic News Watch archive.

Post navigation

Previous: Bayer’s Hyrnuo set for the NSCLC frontlines on accelerated FDA label expansion

Related Stories

  • News

FDA Names Permanent CDER and CBER Directors While the Commissioner’s Post Awaits Confirmation

pharminent September 9, 2026
  • News

Novartis’s Del-Desiran Misses Primary Endpoint in HARBOR, Putting the $12B Avidity Deal Under Scrutiny

pharminent September 8, 2026
  • News

Novartis and Ionis’ Pelacarsen Lowers Lp(a) but Misses on Cardiovascular Outcomes

pharminent September 7, 2026
  • Home
  • Contact
© 2026 All rights reserved. | ReviewNews by AF themes.